homeopathy

As I am entering the world of nutrition and health (starting school next week!), I am reminded time and again that the best thing you can do for your own health is listen to your body.  Our bodies truly know what they need for optimal health and they will tell us; the process of learning to listen will greatly inform the depth of our wellness.  For example, I am prone to getting colds and sinus infections–last winter alone I had 4 sinus infections that knocked me out for a week at a time.  In the past year I have changed some ways I go about life (cutting out meat, eating mostly whole foods, eating when I am hungry and drinking when I am thirsty, going to bed when I am tired…), and it’s these small changes that have given me a greater awareness of my body and how to listen to it.  I am very aware of my symptoms of a cold/sinus infection, and my new favorite remedy is a homeopathic medicine called Coldcalm by Boiron.  A dear friend gave me some when I felt a cold coming on recently and I was amazed at how quickly it worked to alleviate my symptoms.  From the Boiron website: “Homeopathic medicines are therapeutically active micro-doses of mineral, botanical and biological substances.”  Homeopathy is often looked down upon in the medical community (the wikipedia page definitely uses the word “quack”), but only you can decide what works best for your own self care.  Coldcalm has a list of 9 ingredients all written in latin, so I did some research to see what it is I’m actually taking (something we should do for every medicine/thing we put in our bodies, no?) and I’m really excited about what I discovered.  Do some research and decide what’s best for you, but I will say that I haven’t had a cold since last January.  Here’s to a new year of good health!

Leave a Reply

